View Full Version : There's a firebilly.com and...
John Clay Rice Jr.
11-11-2007, 01:50 PM
I am sick of this. The firecoach.com. I think it's uneccesery to fire a coach that had it's second game of his career at UK. First firetubby then firerichbrooks.com now this?
ahhh. Seriously, we do not want to fire University of Kentucky men’s basketball head coach Billy Gillispie.
So why is the name of the site firebilly.com, you ask? To keep it away from some crazy UK fans, we answer.
You see, approximately 95% of UK’s fanbase are just awesome. They cheer hard for great effort on and off the court, they are proud of the history of the program and support it with undying love. But that other 5% are either too passionate or are just plain nuts. They’re the folks who call in on local radio sports shows and decry the coaching staff and players, even after a win. They’re the ones who jump online and make terrible videos calling for a head coach’s dismissal.
And when Coach Billy Clyde has a tough loss — those tough losses come to everybody — they’ll be calling in talk shows and writing hateful Internet posts. And one of them might want to do something stupid like buy firebilly.com and make an actual hate site against the coach.
So, we buy firebilly.com and make it a pro-UK and pro-Gillispie site. Take that, Crazy 5%!
Of course, this all started because of Tubby Smith.
In 2005, a great sensible man bought the FireTubby.com (http://firetubby.com/) domain name. Same reasoning as before; to keep the domain name out of the Crazy 5%’s hands. (Back then, they called themselves the Concerned.) At first the domain was inactive, but later he set up a blog in order to try to explain his position on why Tubby should not be fired. Plus he wanted a way to follow along with the Wildcats, and make fun of those Concerned who were calling for Tubby’s head.
Turns out the blog did really well; all those Concerned fans who would Google for “Fire Tubby” ended up on his pro-Tubby web site! He added a few more folks to help with blogging and taunting. He created a FireRich.com (http://firerich.com/) web site for University of Kentucky football coach Rich Brooks. And when Tubby’s tenure at the University of Kentucky concluded, the firetubby.com writers wanted to continue the tradition.
We hope you stick around. We have a good time following UK Basketball, and plan on doing so in the future. And we can’t wait for the Fire Billy chants to start up.
But we’re not going to be the ones chanting — we’ll be pointing and laughing.
That was taken from the website, it's a good idea, and pretty good scheme. I'm sure it will be googled soon enough and he'll get some money from advertisements.
matt colvin
11-11-2007, 01:55 PM
It was made almost right after he was hired, and t's not a true fire billy site. Look at it, it is made in sarcasm to all of the fire someone sites. Just a UK blog site with an ironic title, that's all.
Yeah the site is up so the mental De De De tard fans cant make it a hater site.
Some people are so stupid it amazes me. Yeah it sucks this even has to be done, but ya know I'm glad these guys do this so the haters cant have there way.
ChattyKat
11-12-2007, 11:00 AM
Firebilly.com
Those who established the Web site firebilly.com are trying reverse psychology.
"Do We Really Want To Fire Billy? Nahhh," the homepage says. "Seriously, we do not want to fire University of Kentucky men's basketball head coach Billy Gillispie.
"So why is the name of the site firebilly.com, you ask? To keep it away from some crazy UK fans, we answer.
"You see, approximately 95 percent of UK's fanbase are just awesome. They cheer hard for great effort on and off the court, they are proud of the history of the program and support it with undying love. But that other 5% are either too passionate or are just plain nuts. They're the folks who call in on local radio sports shows and decry the coaching staff and players, even after a win. They're the ones who jump online and make terrible videos calling for a head coach's dismissal.
"And when Coach Billy Clyde has a tough loss -- those tough losses come to everybody -- they'll be calling in talk shows and writing hateful Internet posts. And one of them might want to do something stupid like buy firebilly.com and make an actual hate site against the coach.
"So, we buy firebilly.com and make it a pro-UK and pro-Gillispie site. Take that, Crazy 5 percent!"
http://www.kentucky.com/284/story/227646.html
Wildcatcrazy11
11-12-2007, 03:09 PM
Haha, crazy idea. I was telling my buddy after last week's game there would be a site up by sunday morning. I just didn't think it would be sarcastic. I like it, personally.
I feel like some fans need to just cool down when they are talking about college sports. Obviously I am a die hard UK athletics fan. But seriously... make a site about your religious, social, or political views before you make one about sports. When its all said and done, these are just college kids playing a game. For the most part, their success or failure (they never truely fail) does not directly affect the way we live our lives. So with that I say to the "Crazy 5%" - Cool down and use your defiance for a greater cause.
freethrow
11-12-2007, 03:18 PM
ahhh. Seriously, we do not want to fire University of Kentucky men’s basketball head coach Billy Gillispie.
So why is the name of the site firebilly.com, you ask? To keep it away from some crazy UK fans, we answer.
You see, approximately 95% of UK’s fanbase are just awesome. They cheer hard for great effort on and off the court, they are proud of the history of the program and support it with undying love. But that other 5% are either too passionate or are just plain nuts. They’re the folks who call in on local radio sports shows and decry the coaching staff and players, even after a win. They’re the ones who jump online and make terrible videos calling for a head coach’s dismissal.
And when Coach Billy Clyde has a tough loss — those tough losses come to everybody — they’ll be calling in talk shows and writing hateful Internet posts. And one of them might want to do something stupid like buy firebilly.com and make an actual hate site against the coach.
So, we buy firebilly.com and make it a pro-UK and pro-Gillispie site. Take that, Crazy 5%!
Of course, this all started because of Tubby Smith.
In 2005, a great sensible man bought the FireTubby.com (http://firetubby.com/) domain name. Same reasoning as before; to keep the domain name out of the Crazy 5%’s hands. (Back then, they called themselves the Concerned.) At first the domain was inactive, but later he set up a blog in order to try to explain his position on why Tubby should not be fired. Plus he wanted a way to follow along with the Wildcats, and make fun of those Concerned who were calling for Tubby’s head.
Turns out the blog did really well; all those Concerned fans who would Google for “Fire Tubby” ended up on his pro-Tubby web site! He added a few more folks to help with blogging and taunting. He created a FireRich.com (http://firerich.com/) web site for University of Kentucky football coach Rich Brooks. And when Tubby’s tenure at the University of Kentucky concluded, the firetubby.com writers wanted to continue the tradition.
We hope you stick around. We have a good time following UK Basketball, and plan on doing so in the future. And we can’t wait for the Fire Billy chants to start up.
But we’re not going to be the ones chanting — we’ll be pointing and laughing.
That was taken from the website, it's a good idea, and pretty good scheme. I'm sure it will be googled soon enough and he'll get some money from advertisements.
Then the idiot that made the site up should put in bold letters right up to on the front page that it is NOT a firebilly site at all. All anyone recruiting against has to do is to display the home page to potential recruit show it exists and then any story they want to make up about UK fans is an easy sell. Show a little smarts will ya?
Brandon
11-13-2007, 12:55 AM
Then the idiot that made the site up should put in bold letters right up to on the front page that it is NOT a firebilly site at all. All anyone recruiting against has to do is to display the home page to potential recruit show it exists and then any story they want to make up about UK fans is an easy sell. Show a little smarts will ya?
Seriously, take a chill pill. It's a perfectly reasonable site that any normal person could look at and tell that it's not for real. All you have to do is take 2 seconds to actually look at the site to tell what this guy's real motivations are.
Mark Blueblood
11-13-2007, 08:57 AM
Seriously, take a chill pill. It's a perfectly reasonable site that any normal person could look at and tell that it's not for real. All you have to do is take 2 seconds to actually look at the site to tell what this guy's real motivations are.
Probably. But freethrow has a point. One of the "enemies" could also merely tell the recruit - "Hey - you know they've already got a "firebilly" website going to get rid of the guy?" Hopefully the recruit would check it out - but, who knows?
freethrow
11-13-2007, 10:55 AM
Seriously, take a chill pill. It's a perfectly reasonable site that any normal person could look at and tell that it's not for real. All you have to do is take 2 seconds to actually look at the site to tell what this guy's real motivations are.
There needs to be a bold message at the top of it saying it isn't a firebilly site, period.
There needs to be a bold message at the top of it saying it isn't a firebilly site, period.
Yeah I agree, when I looked at the site it says Nahh in small print ? I don't get that... I would be shouting that its the opposite and making fun of the people that want him gone...
caliparifan
11-13-2007, 01:05 PM
I think the site's funny. We like to take our basketball seriously, but this is just a lighter take on UK Basketball.
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.